Standards of Care


All nurses are duty bound to provide an exacting degree of care that a reasonable and prudent nurse under the same or similar circumstances would provide. However, depending on the setting, this standard’s bar may be raised, especially in critical care areas. Also, any nurse who has gone beyond the basic credentialing and achieved additional training has taken upon herself the duty to hold her or himself to a higher standard. Neglect or fluffing off care by cutting corners is absolutely inexcusable in these conditions. Critical care areas include the OR, ED, CCU, ICU, PACU and NICU. That is not to say that med/surg, rehab and OB, nursery, pediatrics, geriatrics and psych do not deserve the best of care either. Folks on these floors can all go south very quickly, but they are often thought to be more stable in these areas. References Lynch, Virginia A. and Duval, Janet Barber. (2006). Forensic Nursing. St. Louis: Elsevier Mosby

Technorati Tags:
, , ,


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: